Current headlines

See headlines in {{ chapterInfo.name }}
Post Your Own Class Note

Yale School of Management - The Goldman Sachs Foundation Partnership on Nonprofit Ventures Announces National Business Plan Competition Results 464 Nonprofit Organizations Enter Competition; 90 Are Selected to Round II

October 20th, 2004

New Haven, Conn., October 20, 2004 – "The Yale School of Management - The Goldman Sachs Foundation Partnership on Nonprofit Ventures" today announced its selection of 90 nonprofit organizations to proceed to Round II of the Third National Business Plan Competition for Nonprofit Organizations.

Edward H. Kaplan Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies

October 18th, 2004

New Haven, Conn.—October 18, 2004—Edward H. Kaplan, the William N. and Marie A. Beach Professor of Management Sciences at the Yale School of Management, and Professor of Public Health at the Yale School of Medicine, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health.

Trish Karter's ('82) Dancing Deer Baking Co. Wins Award for Business Excellence

October 18th, 2004

Dancing Deer Baking Co. (www.dancingdeer.com), led by CEO and Co-Founder Trish Karter ('82), won the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce 2004 Award for Business Excellence, one of the Chamber's "Small Business of the Year" Awards. Dancing Deer is the only company in the Award's twenty-year history to win the Business Excellence award twice. The company also received the award in 2001.

Investment Management Conference 2004

October 18th, 2004

Yale SOM students held the first-ever held Investment Management Conference at the New Haven Lawn Club on October 8, 2004. The event, presented by the Investment Management Student Interest Group and sponsored by Institutional Investor.com and the Yale School of Management Alumni Association, featured twenty-six panelists and speakers representing approximately $1.7 trillion dollars in assets under management who participated in the day's four panel discussions.

Shyam Sunder Honored by China's Nankai University

October 15th, 2004

Shyam Sunder was honored as a Guest Professor at Nankai University in Tianjin, China. He also delivered three lectures at the University's Research Center for Corporate Governance to inaugurate its experimental economics laboratory.

In Celebration of National Hispanic Month

October 7th, 2004

An award-winning filmmaker, producer, entertainment executive and entrepreneur, Moctesuma Esparza is well known for his contribution to the movie industry and his commitment to providing access and opportunities for Latinos in Hollywood.

David Sanger, White House Correspondent for The New York Times, Speaks at Yale SOM on Presidential Race and Current U.S. Policy

September 23rd, 2004

David E. Sanger is the White House Correspondent for The New York Times and has one of the most important reporting jobs in the world. Currently, he is center stage covering the presidential elections.

Judy Chevalier Named An Editor of American Economic Review

September 22nd, 2004

Judy Chevalier has been named an editor of the American Economic Review.

Arturo Bris Appointed Research Fellow at European Corporate Governance Institute

September 22nd, 2004

Arturo Bris has been appointed research fellow at the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI).

Jeffrey Sonnenfeld Captures Governance Insights of Top Business Leaders in New Book

September 16th, 2004

Associate Dean Jeffrey Sonnenfeld and Robert Gandossy, the Global Leader of Hewitt Associates' Talent and Organization Consulting Practice, have captured the corporate governance insights of renowned CEOs, scholars, shareholder activists, and public policy leaders in their new book Leadership and Governance from the Inside Out (Wiley). The book cuts across disciplines, sectors, and ideologies to examine the governance problem from the perspective of leadership within organizations. Contributors include William Donaldson, Sherron Watkins, Jack Bogle, Arthur Levitt, Warren Bennis, and Rosabeth Moss Kanter.